SMC Discussion Areas
April 25, 2024, 02:11:21 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: A Vendo 39 and a Newbie  (Read 34149 times)
RustyGold
10 Cent Member

« on: August 27, 2014, 07:01:06 pm »

Hello folks,

Here it goes for a first post.  I am going to look at a Vendo 39 in the next couple of days.  The owner said he thinks "it doesn't work".  I need to find out exactly what he means by that.  I assume it doesn't cool.  He wasn't sure what type of machine it was other than an "old coke machine".  It has been inside in a barn (literally, with animals and stuff) for 25 years.  They say no dings or dents and its all there and complete.  They sent a couple low quality cell phone pictures to me and I looks pretty decent, but then again I'm a noob.  I'm sure a trained eye will see better than mine.  So on that note what do you think?  
Here are my concerns:

1.  No key. So I will be buying this thing without looking inside.  This seems like its last thing you would advise, but I doubt they are going to let me drill the lock until     its paid for.  

2. Rust.  Is there a trick to look for rust in problem areas without opening the main door?  The "belt line" looks fine in the pics, but its hard to tell.

Thanks! -Pat
MoonDawg
Soda Jerks

« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2014, 07:11:53 pm »

Welcome to the site Rusty!
        You found a good one, and a true barn find.  happydrinkers
        There is a 99% chance that compressor is just fine.
        Any rust is also probably just minor.
        This will clean up fantastic so we would advise NOT restoring it.
                                Good Luck!

Glen
tkaz
Soda Jerks

tkaz

« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2014, 07:45:44 pm »

Welcome to the site!  Nice find, hopefully it looks as good in person.