SMC Discussion Areas
June 19, 2024, 02:27:23 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: soldering aluminum  (Read 7938 times)
Larry
Grady
Soda Jerks

« on: June 19, 2010, 01:07:08 pm »

My ice cream machine coil is leaking where the aluminum tubing is soldered to the evaporator shell.  Does anyone have any advice on products that they have tried and worked under pressure for aluminum? 

I never soldered aluminum before.  With the low melting point and oxidation aluminum is tricky.  Any tips on soldering?

Luckily I have a spare ice cream machine coil (doesn't everyone) and so far it is holding 200 PSI of nitrogen.  I would still like to repair the bad coil and store it away.

A lot of stuff.
mznb1u
Soda Jerks

Those Who Stay Will be Champions!

« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2010, 05:12:31 pm »

I am not an expert on the subject but would JB Weld work for that?  I believe they make a JB Weld product for aluminum.

drinking Tim drinking
Larry
Grady
Soda Jerks

« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2010, 09:03:50 pm »

I don't know if it will work or not.  I'm trying to find a product that works 100%.  The ice cream evaporator is a pain in the but to remove.  You have a four foot high evaporator and about a five foot capillary tube and at least six feet of 3/8" tubing.  It's really a struggle removing it without crimping a line.  

The other coil failed the pressure test too. censored

A lot of stuff.
bubba
Soda Jerks

« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2010, 09:45:50 pm »

Aluminum can be tig welded.. I'm not sure of the reaction with the oil inside the line with the weld.. I wouldn't trust any putty to create a leakproof seal.

Ken

V-63 -Bottles
2-Cavalier USS-64
VMC ST56B Royal Crown - being built
Vendo HA56C Coke
2-V63C DP
V63C Coke
U-Select-It 5cent candybar machine
tkaz
Soda Jerks

tkaz

« Reply #4 on: June 19, 2010, 09:54:31 pm »