SMC Discussion Areas
June 18, 2024, 07:16:26 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Ideal 55 slider - need some help  (Read 25072 times)
ZMonet
10 Cent Member

« on: June 11, 2006, 09:09:22 am »

I am VERY new to this hobby, but have been taking the crash course in soda vending machines over the last couple of weeks.  I have always thought about getting an old soda machine for my father, but never pulled the trigger.  With father's day/ his birthday approaching in July my brother and I are now putting together a game room for him.  He already has three classic games (Frogger, a pinball, Pole Position II) in the basment, but he really doesn't have any setup.  Anyway, on to my point.

One of the things my brother and I want to give him is an Ideal 55 Slider Coke machine.  We were able to find a supposedly fully working one (pics below) not too far from my parent's place and I plan on driving from where I currently am (350 miles away) picking the Slider up and trying to do a quick and dirty restoration on the thing.  I may have paid a little too much ($350), but it is close by and the seller agreed to store it.  I am not looking for perfection since this is going to sit in an unfinished basement, but I would like it to at least have the feal of a 55 Slider Coke machine.  In that regard, I was hoping that someone might help me with my bullet list.  ANY guidance is appreciated:

REMOVING PAINT -- it looks like this thing has at least two levels of paint on it.  I don't have access to a sand blaster and was planning on using a chemical remover and sanders.  Any suggestions on specific chemcial removers?