SMC Discussion Areas
June 27, 2024, 06:43:15 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: I think I'm gonna cry...  (Read 10077 times)
pinballdude
25 Cent Member

« on: April 27, 2011, 01:03:07 pm »

I have collected Coca-Cola memorabilia since I graduated high School in 1975.
I can still remember my first convention at Elizabethtown KY around 1977.
Totally blown away by both the Schmidt Museum and the stuff collectors brought
to sell out of their rooms.  I still try to go to the annual convention there when I can.
The convention has changed since I first went. But the loss of the Schmidt Coke Museum will
change forever the annual Septemberfest hosted by the Mid-South Chapter of the
Coca-Cola Collectors Club.

http://www.kfvs12.com/story/14522988/copy-ky-family-to-sell-massive-coca-cola-collection

I have talked with other attendees and we agree, many of the old time collectors are selling their
collections because their children want nothing to do with the stuff and don't want to deal w/it when
the parents are gone. Also older collector need money NOW with the economy the way it is.

I could go on reminiscing, I miss the good old days!
SIGNGUY
Soda Jerks

Collector of Ol Smoothie Rootbeer

« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2011, 01:48:45 pm »

I was hoping to get there someday, I guess now I'll just have to fork over the 10 million and buy it all ... wonder if they'll take a check?

Soda Machine Enthusiast since 1996!
tkaz
Soda Jerks

tkaz

« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2011, 01:51:02 pm »

I wonder how much Coke is going to fork over for some of those items that they don't have, it'll be interesting to follow the auctions.

Maybe I could just send them a money order, with a little extra so they can pay my shippers when they show up.

RC kid
Soda Jerks

« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2011, 03:35:42 pm »