SMC Discussion Areas
May 01, 2024, 03:55:54 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Deck swap?????  (Read 3897 times)
« on: January 15, 2003, 07:03:19 pm »

Need to know if I can swap all of the refrigeration parts from a cavalier c-8  to a cavalier c-5 machine.I was given a huge c-8 that has working deck.I am restoring a c-5 that does not.Can I do this without breaking any lines loose?I am new to coke machines and need all the help i can get.
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2003, 10:20:42 am »

I am by no means an expert, and I am sure that some of the people here could help you out better... But I just swapped out a Cavalier deck from a USS-64 and put it in a C-64es. Probably a 15 year difference between machines, but the deck fit perfectly. I did have to drill new holes for the evaporator, but other than that, it couldn't have been easier. I can't amigine that Cavalier had too many deck configurations, so without seeing the machines I would think that you should be OK.  The Compressor, Condensor and Evaporator should be able to be removed in one piece without breaking or bending anything. If everything appears to match up, between the two models, then I would go for it. Thats my 2 cents...
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2003, 07:26:38 pm »

Thanks for the info.....
Went out and swaped the deck from another c-5 to mine....
Works great.Thanks for the vote of confidence......

I do have one more question....
The c-8 that i have has a bigger evaporator with two fans.
Would that be better to use than the one fan unit in my machine now??????
C-ya
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2003, 04:06:58 pm »