SMC Discussion Areas
April 25, 2024, 05:16:28 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Excessive Frosting & Constant Running in Ideal 55 Slider?  (Read 2822 times)
BobsSoda

« on: May 17, 2018, 11:58:39 am »

I'm a newbie to this forum (but not to soda machines in general), and am now dealing with some problems with my first Ideal 55 Slider machine! (Note that when I purchased it about a month ago, it was completely restored, and I was told that the cooling system had also been gone through, as well as recharged). I've been keeping it running around 40-degrees.

First, in spite of trying 3 different thermostat-with-capillary-probe units, the compressor and fan are always running full-time. There are no changes in temperature when you turn the thermostat dial either up or down; they only seem to work as an on/off switch. While it is surely running all the time, it does also appear that the fan will run steady for a while, but then also speed-up and/or slow-down during this constantly-running cycle. (It reminds of of the old fluid-filled "fan clutches" that were found on older cars; the fan speed on this thing seems to change as the thing runs, sometimes almost coming to a stop; then goes back on again... and no, the fan blade is not loose). Anyway, this does not seem "normal" to me, unless the cooling system is actually controlled by the fan speed changing constantly?