SMC Discussion Areas
April 25, 2024, 12:18:15 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: painting raised embossed letters without being a sign painter  (Read 4125 times)
chris in Bama

« on: December 09, 2017, 07:40:49 pm »

A body shop painted my WD5 cooler in white, then painted red over everything, then wiped the red away from the letters. It looked pretty good initially, then I realized some of the letters were not fully made/painted when removing the paint, also, some of the letters had some pink hue in them and the letters were not as thick or full as the should have been. I am not an artist, or a sign painter with a letter quill brush. here is how I painted over the letters. I used the white paint from fun-tronics (picked up at their booth in Chicago).  I painted over each letter following the curves with a cheap artist brush from hobby lobby. the letters were slightly overlapped on the sides. Then i used these 6" cotton applicators (q tip with a wooden stick) with a little mineral spirits to remove the paint from the edge of the letters. I just pushed the tip up against the letter and followed the letter removing the paint. I used mineral spirits (in the tip) to remove the paint. It revealed a nice smooth edge around the letters. For Further away from the letter's edge I used these cotton plugs (used for nose bleeds), soaked in  mineral spirits to clean up the rest of the white paint & residue before drying. The 6"tips with a wooden stick work better than just plain q-tips as it is wound tighter and doesn't pull apart easy. I initially tried with an air brush, but there was just too much over spray to clean up. Ill try to post some before & after pics as I am only 1/2 way done with it.