SMC Discussion Areas
June 26, 2024, 03:29:18 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: "Beer Can Chicken" recipe?  (Read 7704 times)
jholmgren
Soda Jerks

« on: June 01, 2013, 07:50:23 pm »

So - besides obsessing over Coke machines, I love to cook.  Indoors or outdoors, frying, baking, roasting - you name it,  I enjoy cooking it.    

I've been on a bit of a kick with my Kamado grill lately.  Besides the usual burgers, steaks, chicken - I cooked a 10lb pork shoulder last weekend for the family.  Slow-roasted/smoked it for 11 hours at 225*, pulled it apart for sandwiches and it was just amazing.   Cool

I'm going to take on a 'beer can chicken' tomorrow.  I've never done one before, but I love grilled chicken and it sounds like a lot of fun to make.   I know how I'm going to set up the grill to cook it, and I'm thinking of a basic and simple rub of salt/pepper/olive oil/thyme but using white wine instead of beer for the steam in the 'beer can' section.  I love cooking chicken indoors with white wine and garlic, so I think that would translate well outside.

Anyone else have any recipe suggestions they would like to share?

Jim

Embossed Coke Ideal 55 Slider
VMC-44
Vendo V-80 
Westinghouse WE-6
Marvin
Soda Jerks

« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2013, 08:25:15 pm »

I cook chicken on the grill by "spatchcocking" it.  I've done the beer can and it is good.  I like this version better.  It cooks faster and to me has more flavor.

http://www.nakedwhiz.com/spatch.htm
jholmgren
Soda Jerks

« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2013, 09:44:29 pm »

Thanks Marvin!  I have cooked chicken in the oven by spatchcocking it (used a foil wrapped brick as a "press" on top) - it was delicious.  I'll add this one to my list of things I need to try on the grill.   happydrinkers

VMC-44
Vendo V-80 
Westinghouse WE-6
tkaz
Soda Jerks

tkaz