SMC Discussion Areas
June 30, 2024, 12:57:46 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: I am new to this site but still LOVE 81D's...  (Read 7985 times)
Marrazzo

« on: April 18, 2013, 06:56:07 pm »

I am basically new to this entire community of restoring vintage coolers and machines but I absolutely love how everyone on this site and anyone I speak to is sooooo helpfull.

Vendo 81D... Is it a tough restoration, compared to most? I'm asking just to roughly find out how long or how quickly an experienced restorer could turn out a complete 81D. Looking at "Funtronics" website it appears that they have most of the parts required to do this restoration, so in theory I wouldn't be hunting around for spare parts.

Just looking for some feedback on everyone's experiences while restoring their 81D's, since I personally believe it is a must have as my first machine in my collection.

Thanks, I look forward to hearing from everyone...
« Last Edit: April 18, 2013, 07:22:39 pm by Marrazzo » Logged
mygoose101
Soda Jerks

« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2013, 09:17:05 pm »

For your first machine you couldn't have picked a better one for sure. The D is a little harder then both the A and B but only because of the larger coin mech. Do you already have the machine and just looking for someone to restore it or do you need both? I'm asking because if you need both I would buy one already done. With the cost of a machine added to a restoration cost from a good restorer you are going to be in it about $6,500 or so. Also most good restorers are backed up so you will have a wait time as well.

Vendo 81A Original
Vendo 81B Original
Vendo 81D Restored
Vendo 56 Restored
VMC Pepsi 81 Restoredx2
Cavalier 72
Ideal Embossed Coke Slider
Stoner Theater Restored
Stoner Theater w/Gum Wheel Restored
Stoner Jr. Restored
Seeburg V200 Jukebox Restored
Seeburg 100C