SMC Discussion Areas
April 19, 2024, 06:45:30 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: red pepsi 81  (Read 51145 times)
vendo_81

« on: April 05, 2013, 08:33:37 am »

Hello,  I am new to the SMC forum group.  Did anybody see pawn stars and american restorations with the red Pepsi 81?  I'm sure it was factory red.  I know this because I have two of them.  Both of mine have serial #'s 20 something apart and the one on the show was one # off one of mine.  They aren't actually red.  They are more of a redish orange color, definately not coke red.  I would like to know why and how many of these were made this way?  Both of mine were found about an hour from each other.   
Kilroy
Soda Jerks

« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2013, 08:40:24 am »

Welcome to the boards! And I'm jealous - 2 Pepsi VMC 81's? I still haven't found my first one.

We had a discussion on the red VMC's.  No one had seen or heard of them before,and ifi recall, the general thought was they were repainted at some point years ago.
That thought has now changed with 2 more popping up.  The mystery continues

"Restored they go for $6-7,000!!"
Member : Michigan Mafia
sc1101
Soda Jerks

« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2013, 08:52:58 am »

I'd love to own a Pepsi 81 in red or blue. Rare red would be my first choice. As long as it was painted red originally. The more uncommon the more I want it.. It's funny how the longer you collect the items you want are harder to find and more expensive. I think I might have to go back to collecting bottles. biggrin
« Last Edit: April 05, 2013, 08:55:04 am by sc1101 » Logged

Siphonmix 5A
Jacobs 56
Surevend P47
Mills 45,47N,65
La Crosse 56
Glascock Countertop
ICY-O Cntrtp Cooler restored
ICY-O 120
Liquid Carbonic Back Bar
1890 Fletcher, 1940 Fischman Fountains
A-8, A-12 Industrial Carton Cooler
Holcomb+Hoke Popcorn
Mengel Wood Cooler
MaineT