SMC Discussion Areas
April 27, 2024, 09:56:42 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Glasco slider with 4 cases of soda  (Read 5177 times)
« on: August 31, 2004, 11:22:50 pm »

Hi all.  I am fairly new to soda machine collecting, and had a few quick questions.  I just got my hands on my second soda machine.   While visiting a jobsite this past week, I was given an older Glasco 50 slider.  

An older home was getting torn down to make way for a new home, and the demo contractor was complaining of the "junk" left in the garage of the house.  Most of it was trash, with the exception of the Glasco slider.  He told me that his guys had taken the "good" soda machines that were in there, but this one was left.  Withour hesitation, I told him that I would help him out and get it out of his way.  The machine is in real nice shape, no major body damage and no rust whatsoever.  As usual, it is missing the coin mech, cap catcher and the rack, but it still cools like a champ.  I will post a few pictures this week.

After loading it into my truck, he asked me if I wanted the old soda that was left behind.  There were 40 full bottles of 10 oz. Cokes and 38 full bottles of 10 oz. Tab., all in 4 wooden case boxes.  Being a packrat, I took these as well.  

Now my questions;

1. Where can I find information on restoring the Glasco slider?  

2. There is a button/plunger switch on the interior rear wall that is stuck.  What is it's purpose?    

3. Is it more or less the same machine as the Ideal 55?  There seems to be alot more info on the Ideal 55.  Are the missing parts interchangable, or are they specific to each manufacturer?

4. What is the market on the old bottles?  Are they more valuable being full?  

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Larry

ussexplorer
10 Cent Member

« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2004, 12:21:25 am »