SMC Discussion Areas
May 01, 2024, 11:01:39 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 1st soda machine  (Read 16886 times)
ercin13

« on: December 19, 2010, 10:30:13 am »

hello, newbie here. i recently hit a yard sale and picked this up for $50. after watching countless episodes of american pickers and pawn stars, i convinced myself i hit the jackpot. well after i did a little research, i found out i didnt. oh well you live and you learn. i did talk them down from $75.

i figured i would try and sell it for a small profit. as i keep looking at it on my porch, its starting to grow on me and im thinking about keeping it. the wife keeps telling me to sell sell sell but she did say tonight she thinks it would look good in my bar room. i think shes warming up to it too. lol.

just wanted to get some opinions from experienced collectors. whats its value as is and restored? im mechanically able to do a lot of things. what kind of level is it to take it apart and restore it? it cools great and needs a coin mechanism. do i need a coin mechanism if i am just using it for personal use? the model # is VFA56B-B. any history or other info on it would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

ercin13

« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2010, 10:32:21 am »

bubba
Soda Jerks

« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2010, 11:01:04 am »

You did good on the price.. I would probably hose that machine down with spray nine and a pressure washer. Then give it a good compound with a polisher followed by a coat of wax. Many of the scratches will come out or atleast clean up. I wouldn't sink a whole lot of money into restoring it at this point. The machine can free vend cans pretty easily, so the coin mech isn't needed for home use..

Ken

V-63 -Bottles
2-Cavalier USS-64
VMC ST56B Royal Crown - being built
Vendo HA56C Coke
2-V63C DP
V63C Coke