SMC Discussion Areas
June 28, 2024, 05:21:15 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Couldn't Get it in the House!  (Read 5662 times)
Marketblandings

« on: August 02, 2010, 12:24:43 am »

Hi Folks!

I'm new to So-Mach.com and the hobby as well. But just wanted to share the solution to my problems with you.

My house was built in 1917. There is no way in that doesn't involve steep, shallow stairs and a turn or 2 (what were they thinking in those days!)
Still, I had a lifelong dream of owning a Pop Machine (Minnesota terminology) from my childhood days and "upgrading" the contents to include bottled beer as well!
I found the machine - a 1964 LaCrosse. I was 7 in '64 and LaCrosse was a regional machine seen often around here.
I still didn't know where it would go - and after I drove 6 hours to pick it up, I learned for the first time how H.E.A.V.Y. these freakin' things are!
I brought it home and it spent almost a year in the garage.
In the meantime, my wife had begun to "remind" me that I had promised to build a deck in the back yard some day...........
It hit me like a lightning bolt - as long as I had lumber and tools out I could build a home for the pop machine, too!
I have no construction experience, so it took me awhile to devise a plan. In the end it became  a freestanding deck just above ground level (and AT ground level for the weird step-up our yard has). It has two connected "tin roof shacks", one for food service or seating out of the rain and the other as a hail-proof, protected home for the LaCrosse.
It has been so successful that I went on to build a matching chicken coop for our (urban) chickens.
The pop-shed even has a tin cover that closes it off when we are out of town or for the killer Minnesota winters.
Thanks for your time. Just sayin' hi!
mznb1u
Soda Jerks

Those Who Stay Will be Champions!