SMC Discussion Areas
July 16, 2024, 05:39:34 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Video for everyone to think about  (Read 3083 times)
memorylane
Soda Jerks

« on: September 01, 2009, 04:42:58 pm »

For anyone that has kids that are now driving or will be soon, please think about having them watch this video, sorry for getting off the topic of machines.

Texting While Driving (Very Graphic)
EVERY driver should see this, especially teenagers. It is very graphic and is recommended for 18 and older but if they wait till 18 to see it, they may not reach 18. As a firefighter, I see this stuff all too often. PARENTS: Watch this by yoursel...f first then WITH your kids. Explain to them that if they HAVE TO phone or text, pull over and stop in a SAFE location first, THEN use the phone.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DGE8LzRaySk&feature=player_embedded
memorylane
Soda Jerks

« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2009, 04:54:41 pm »

This was posted by a good friend who is a Firefighter, I'm not but someone very close to him was killed last week by a young man 17 years old that was texting on his phone and crossed the center line, he was first on the scene only to discover his friend of 25 years old was killed by this young man. The young boy was hurt but lived and his friend had two boys ages 8 and 13 and a 3 month old little girl.
Jim
Administrator
Soda Jerks

#1 Soda Jerk!

« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2009, 05:06:35 pm »

Very true Curtis.
I'm a firefighter in training with my 15 yr old daughter! She's in for a tough driving schedule ! ! !
Remember this though, no matter how much preparation I do with my daughter, once she steps into another vehicle, all her training goes out the window and My wife and I are at the mercy of this other inexperienced driver...

My six cents,

Jim

memorylane
Soda Jerks