SMC Discussion Areas
July 03, 2024, 03:07:45 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Need Help (Any Pilots On Here)  (Read 5899 times)
msanborn
25 Cent Member

« Reply #10 on: December 05, 2012, 09:31:00 am »

Rod:  I second what Greginnm said, the military offers a tremendous opportunity, free hours, planes, training, gas, and a good paycheck.  Many of the USMC Pilots I knew back in the day are currently working for the airlines.  Good luck.   

Vendo 81
Vendo 39
Pepsi VMC 81
Ideal Slider
Glasco Slider
Zach
25 Cent Member

« Reply #11 on: December 13, 2012, 10:19:40 pm »

I am a private pilot and a student at the Metropolitan State University of Denver, I am graduating in the spring with a degree in Aviation Management. My colleagues and I have been facing this same problem for close to 4 years now still trying to figure out what to do. We had all wanted to be professional pilots and quickly got drawn away because of the costs. The new rule passed by congress (like they would know a thing about being a pilot), will take effect in August 2013 and is that an entry level job as a first officer will require 1,500 hours of flight time compared to the minimum of 250 hours currently. Reaching 1,500 hours of flight time will take a significant investment of money and time just to get a job making maybe $20k a year. Many say just become a flight instructor (CFI) and build hours training students, but building 1,500 hours as a CFI will take many years while making not much more than $12 an hour. With the new rule, there will be a large supply of flight instructors and a limited supply of students, so building hours as a CFI will take a long time. How do they expect someone to invest upwards of $80k on flight training and college to then make $12 an hour for years as a CFI and then just maybe $20k as a first officer for many years mo