SMC Discussion Areas
May 17, 2024, 05:49:28 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Need some help on coolong system westinghouse WC-96T  (Read 4386 times)
cfunni

« on: August 06, 2012, 08:23:35 am »

First let me start out by saying I am new to old soda machine ownership. I recently did a barter on Craigslist for a fair condition WC-96T. The unit is complete and needs some cleaning up. I have removed the refrigeration unit and rewired it due to old cracking wires. Everything runs, but I found a Freon line broken. It is the small one that goes from the compressor to the top of the condenser coil. I tried to clean and solder it but it does not look like copper. It is silver not orange in color. Any ideas what this is and how to repair it.
Thanks
Craig in Houston

WC-96T
MrMark

« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2012, 03:44:44 pm »

It's probably steel. I've replaced them before using steel brake line tubing from an auto parts store. I used a spring tubing bender and got it pretty close to the shape of the old one. Just sand the coating off so brazing will stick.

As for soldering, you can't use soft solder like is found on water piping. And in all likelihood, the port on the compressor is steel, as is the condenser. For both of these you have to use brazing rod. Silfoss has phosphorus in it that eats up the steel. Clean 'em up real good with emery cloth, use some dry flux (or preflux brazing rod) and braze away. Be sure and have a dry nitrogen atmosphere in the system while brazing, and change the drier (or remove the strainer, whichever it has) and replace with a new C032 drier. Again, nitrogen atmosphere in the system while silfossing the drier in.