SMC Discussion Areas
May 31, 2024, 05:13:13 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Soda blasting recommendations?  (Read 4708 times)
JimFromSTL

I'm an IT manager with a zest for mantiques.

« on: June 13, 2013, 10:11:32 pm »

Hey everybody, I've been absent for awhile

I'm thinking of buying a soda blaster from Harbor Freight this weekend and renting a large air compressor.  Any personal experience with these?  I've read all the reviews and think it's worth the risk, I'll just keep my receipts. 

I plan on learning to do this on a pedal car I have then moving up to soda machines and other stuff.

Thx.

Looking for:
Dr Pepper and Hires Root beer items. 
Duncan parking meters
License plates for trade
SIGNGUY
Soda Jerks

Collector of Ol Smoothie Rootbeer

« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2013, 08:21:30 am »

I guess if you have the money to do it , and bother with renting a compressor and the space to do your own blasting then go for it ..

personally I like paying $50.00 to have my stuff blasted at the local body shop.. cheap, easy and no mess at my place.

Soda Machine Enthusiast since 1996!
JimFromSTL

I'm an IT manager with a zest for mantiques.

« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2013, 12:58:29 pm »

I would happily go that route if I had options.  All the local guys either don't do it any longer or want a mint.  I paid $75 for a single gumball machine to be blasted.  Two of those and I could buy a blaster.  4 more and I could buy a compressor.  For now my plan is to buy a soda blaster and media and rent the compressor.  We'll see how it goes.

Looking for:
Dr Pepper and Hires Root beer items. 
Duncan parking meters
License plates for trade
kbareit
Soda Jerks

« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2013, 04:51:25 am »