SMC Discussion Areas
May 06, 2024, 07:54:58 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Vendo 77  (Read 4518 times)
James Hoffa

« on: October 18, 2013, 10:34:46 pm »

Hello,

So I'm new to the hobby and looking to purchase my first machine. Came across this one on the internet. Its missing a few shelves, but cools nicely. Cosmetic scratches and dings, surface rust. Not sure if the mech works - the red switch in the middle seems to continuously cycle in one position and stop in the other. It must be on free-vend at the moment but I'm unsure how to take it off to test the mech.  The seller listed at $385 but offered to sell to me for $300. From what I read on here, practically any machine that cools is in the 200-300 price range. How difficult would it be to get replacement shelving and other parts? Is this model difficult to restore? What could it be worth after restoration? Does anything else stick out from the pictures that a green horn would miss? Thanks guys and I look forward to getting in to this hobby.

Vendo V-77
Lacrossa 90-9
tkaz
Soda Jerks

tkaz

« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2013, 10:42:13 pm »

The problem that you would have with a 77 is that it's not that common.  The shelves, coin door, marquee are all wider than the much more common 63/90 so you might have a tough time finding replacements for it.  They are also a bit heavier than the 63, so that's a factor when/if you decide to restore.

The 'updated' decals are something else, I've never seen that before!  Hopefully they'd just peel off.

MoonDawg
Soda Jerks

« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2013, 09:33:24 am »

Welcome to the site Jimmy!  biggrin

As with all old machines, that coin mech needs to be updated anyways, it is junk.

As Tom stated, you will likely have to make your own shelves.