SMC Discussion Areas
May 02, 2024, 11:02:16 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: wierd piece making noise  (Read 9611 times)
dragrocker
« on: December 04, 2006, 01:59:15 am »

first i want to say any info is greatly appreciated. i picked up a maching last week for my garage. i plug it in and everything gets 'cool' but nowhere near cold. about every minute or so i hear this clicking sound..kinda like a relay or contact clicking a couple times really fast.

so i find the piecet that is making the noise. its a 1" diamater piece on the side of the compressor that is open on the back (and the open piece is pushed up against the compressor body itself). 2 wires go to it and if you look into the open side there is a metal looking plate. every minute or so it would click and ark inside of this piece. i am an electrician and i have never seen a piece like this before or have any idea what it does lol. i can get a pic tomorrow if needed. my machine is the usual 80-90s style pepsi machine. i hope someone can help me . thanks again in advance
Creighton
Global Moderator
Soda Jerks

« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2006, 02:05:17 am »

Welcome to the board dragrocker! A picture and any info on the model of machine will help.
Creighton
Skeleton Man
Soda Jerks

« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2006, 02:48:08 am »

Sounds like the compressor is short cycling..  that peice you are reffering to is an overload cutout..  kills power to the compressor if it draws too much current or overheats..
johnieG
Global Moderator
Soda Jerks

This is fine...everythings going to be OK....

« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2006, 08:51:43 pm »

(Skeleton Man @ Dec. 04 2006,2:48)
Sounds like the compressor is short cycling..  that peice you are reffering to is an overload cutout..  kills power to the compressor if it draws too much current or overheats..