SMC Discussion Areas
May 16, 2024, 11:52:29 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Westinghouse BV-56 newbie here.  (Read 2807 times)
Jinx
« on: May 25, 2011, 05:47:21 pm »

Hello all from S.E. Georgia! I'm a career soldier and teach welding and machine shop to National Guard soldiers.Been lurking for a week or so and now I'm gonn'a pester ya'll! help
 Picked up a BV-56 that was living as a fridge in someones shop and I'm on my way to at least getting back up and running. It's been gutted,coin mech gone,all the vend assm gone,and the coin return cup/bezzle and vend lever area bondo'd over. SIGH.  But no rust out.
 Hard to find info on this model of machine but I'm determined to at least make a kick butt Coke "fridge" outt'a it for my man cave/garage. biggrin
 Ok, I'm installing a 3n1 on the compressor but need a thermostat now.
 Would like to replace the missing change return and put a lever on it. All non functioning,just cosmetic but I have no idea where to get the parts. All the parts sites have almost nothing for the BV-56. It can't be that ugly that they refuse to make parts for it! tounge
 Any ideas on what would swap/fit.
 Hope to get some pics soon.
 Thanks!
collecture
Soda Jerks

Tom

« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2011, 06:35:02 pm »

Welcome Jinx,
Yes - the BV-56 is a "hard to find parts for" machine.
The 56 (I think) uses the more common crank handle and not the elongated Westinghouse handle. You can get a repro crank handle from the sponsors or someone here may have an extra. I can't picture the CR cup in my head, but it probably is not too difficult to locate either

Cav 27, 33, CS-55E-2, 72
S-48 DP
Ideal CC 35, Barq's 55
1930s DP Counter Cooler
Vendo Coin Changers (ea. style - orig w/ stand)
Vendo Junior (rest.), 23 Deluxe, 39D, 44, 56RT, 80SS, 81A (orig), 81D, 6 C.V.
VMC 27, 27A, 81D DP, 110 DP