SMC Discussion Areas
May 30, 2024, 05:24:08 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Jacobs compressor is it worth saving..  (Read 5835 times)
davethebirdman
Soda Jerks

« on: May 26, 2009, 10:35:40 am »

Hi Guys

I finally got hold of the person who was supposed to be sorting out my refrigeration on the Jacobs machine I've been bring back to life for the last two years.

The compressor was sitting in my garage awaiting a service etc for a long time. One of the kids must have touched it because the pipe broke and all the liquid escaped.

The friend of a friend who was going to sort it out has told me that it isn't worthwhile putting replacement R12 into the compressor because it will burn it out. He can't put R12 into it because its illegal.

So, that leaves me a choice. Either I get a new unit (240v) which is not going to be cheap or I take the chance with the replacement.

Your advice please. I think this friend of a friend has good intentions but I don't want to thrwo the heart of my machine out if I don't have to...

By the same token I want to be able to use the Jacobs machine for what it was intended...

Dave
« Last Edit: May 26, 2009, 11:19:34 am by johnieG » Logged
loman4ec
Soda Jerks

« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2009, 10:43:36 am »

I would say it depends on what the cost is. a new compressor shouldn't be too bad and look on the bright side. No more step down transformers. How dod your kids break the lines? I have done a lot to cooling systems and not broke a line?Huh?Huh??
davethebirdman
Soda Jerks

« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2009, 11:01:55 am »

Josh

would still need the step down just to run the fans etc... Unless I changed all that too...