SMC Discussion Areas
May 02, 2024, 11:25:33 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: UPDATED May 19 2013-A description of pre-1960 VENDO Co. business  (Read 32758 times)
toolbox

« on: April 15, 2013, 02:59:32 pm »

A description for NOVICES of pre-1960 VENDO Co. business.

UPDATED May 19, 2013

Updated or added text is italicized for easier locating.

I’m a retired novice myself out in WA State. My livelihood was all based on machines.
I struggled a lot with the info available on the web when researching my friend’s latest buy, a Coca-Cola vending machine. His turned out to be a Vendo 159 Top (without the Basket) mounted on a Westinghouse Standard chest with a L-25-S cooling unit. I gave him a date of 1947. On March 26th I had posted a couple pictures on this site.

During my research it appeared that a lot of the info on the web, relating to chest-type only machines, was confusing. I couldn’t find a clear definition of Vendo’s business in the pre-1960 era. I contacted the State Historical Society of Missouri Research Center - Kansas City. They explained to me what it would take to get access to or copies of their file ‘KC0084’.  This file has 21 folders, around 1,000 pages, about the Vendo Co. from 1938 through 1981. I’m unable to do either at this time.

I think it’s important to define Vendo’s business from their conception through the pre-60’s. Through my research I found that their business was founded in 1937 and was based on the manufacturing of coin operated Tops and Baskets only for mounting on the 1,000’s of Westinghouse Coca-Cola coolers that were already out in the market place. Their products turned ‘honor-pay’ coolers into ‘pay-first’ vending machines, 5 cents to 10 cents, for a 6½ oz. bottle of Coca-Cola.