SMC Discussion Areas
May 03, 2024, 04:11:32 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Done! Vert 6 case  (Read 29352 times)
fabes
5 Cent Member

« on: September 24, 2011, 09:28:20 pm »

UPDATE #1 ON PAGE 2 - 9.26.11
UPDATE #2 ON PAGE 3 - 10.4.11
UPDATE #3 & #4 ON PAGE 4 - 10.8.11
UPDATE #5 ON PAGE 4 - 10.13.11
FINAL PRODUCT ON PAGE 4 - 11.1.11

Hello everyone,
I am a newbie and I have just jumped into the restoration world with my first purchase of a Vendo 6 case vertical cooler. I purchased this to keep in my home. As a newbie, I hope my questions are not super annoying to you all, but I do have a lot of questions to ask. I hope that some of you can help me out and I appreciate your time helping me learn! I have posted 50 detailed pictures of my machine on the following link (if people prefer to have them on the forum, that's fine, but I didn't want to have a huge post).  

Link to my cooler: http://www.design46.com/cokemachine.html

I keep going back and forth with whether I totally restore this machine or just do a partial restoration. What do you think??? The outside shell is in pretty good condition and most of the rust is in the tub liner and below the frame around the condenser. The cooling system does work and is quiet, but when the condenser kicks on, it's pretty loud (I have a someone who knows more about cooling systems coming to look at it on Monday).

I know it's all a matter of opinion on full vs partial restoration, but I'd appreciate your opinion as well.

I have been reading through the forum over the past couple days and I know I'll have a lot of questions on products to use for rust, insulation to use, etc.

So, again, thanks for your time and please tell me what you think.

On a side note, the work you guys do is pretty amazing to me and is inspiring!