SMC Discussion Areas
May 29, 2024, 06:13:06 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Hammertone  (Read 3763 times)
jgastonl

« on: September 15, 2010, 02:54:17 pm »

Hello all, im a newbie and this is my first machine.  The inside (refrigerated area) of my machine looks pretty good.  There is no rust, it is just dirty from spilled drinks from over the years.  Just wanting some opinions on whether I should coat with Hammertone or a clear coat to make the appearance of it better.

« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2010, 03:32:05 pm »

I use hammertone. It is very strong, looks great and is cheap. It really cleans up the appearance of the inside of the machine and requires very little prep and is a great rust preventative. I have been using it for a long time and it holds up very well
jgastonl

« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2010, 04:32:34 pm »

Thanks...I was just nervous as what to use.  Any tips (prep, painting, etc.)?  Greatly appreciated.

« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2010, 05:11:45 pm »

Sure first off use rustoleum silver hammertone. You can get it from Home Depot, lowes, walmart and so on. Wipe the metal down with mineral spirts "paint thinner" then use a green scotch bright pad to scuff the metal and to get some of the white powder off of the metal then wipe it down again and spray the paint. It gives a really nice finish on the inside of a machine. Here are a few pictures of the insides of machines I have done in hammertone in the past.

Also the 7up machine in the pics all of the green is also hammertone its just the green color.
RetroMe
5 Cent Member

« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2010, 07:43:46 pm »

Im confused. Is the "Hammertone" the same as the "Hammered" finish spay paint made bt Rustoleum? It's the one with the crinkle like finish?
Kilroy
Soda Jerks

« Reply #5 on: September 15, 2010, 08:11:00 pm »

Same thing.