SMC Discussion Areas
May 07, 2024, 09:54:24 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 1956 Pirate Gun United Arcade Game  (Read 7508 times)
Kilroy
Soda Jerks

« on: August 30, 2009, 11:28:32 am »

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to shooting gallery games, but there is one  10 minutes away, and for i tihnk is a good price for a working machine.
needs some paint, but it plays, glss is cracked in the lower corner, but the paint on it is in very good shape

iit's called Pirate Gun,  mfg by United  circa 1956.
I've looked the usual sources, but can't find much information. Anyone tell me, are these things hard to work on, locate parts, etc.
Should i pass and look for a more desirable ( ie easy to find parts) machine?

"Restored they go for $6-7,000!!"
Member : Michigan Mafia
Larry
Grady
Soda Jerks

« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2009, 12:47:30 pm »

I had a 1954 United's Deluxe Bonus Gun.  You shot hillbillies, whiskey bottles, scarecrows, and turkeys.  Everyone friend and relative is still gripping at me because I sold it three years ago.  I was planning on having my Chicago Coin Twin Rifle by now.  So as far as the cool factor went and popularity of my guest, it ranked high.

United's are built like a tank.  My guess, without seeing it, would be that you just had to take it all apart, clean it, lube some of it, and put it back together.  Very easy.  You just need time, a camera, some super lube, acetone, contact adjust tool, normal tools (needle nose, crescent wrench, 7/16, etc.), a drop light, and some beer for when you are finished.  

I can help you if you like.  I even have a draw full of United 1950's parts, but they should still be good.  That's why I have a draw full, they hardly go bad.

Any pictures?

http://marvin3m.com/arcade/pirgun.htm

A lot of stuff.
cokemachinesandmore
Soda Jerks