SMC Discussion Areas
May 09, 2024, 09:14:22 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Estimate for sandblasting a machine (CSS-96) and painting?  (Read 10358 times)
brasskey
25 Cent Member

« on: January 16, 2012, 08:06:07 pm »

I know price can vary depending on what's being done, but I wanted to get some ideas on what I would be looking to spend on some services since I'm new at restoring a machine from the ground up. I don't know what to expect so I thought I'd ask.

I completely disassembled my CSS-96 and I was going to start looking into places to get estimates on sandblasting.  What is a price range I should be expecting? Obviously the big pieces are the shell and the door.  Along with the coin mech door there are maybe 10 other pieces.

Next, what about a paint job?  I know there will be a little body work that will need to be done so that will increase the price.  Disregarding major body work, what should I expect on that?  Thanks.

« Last Edit: January 16, 2012, 11:45:47 pm by brasskey » Logged
mznb1u
Soda Jerks

Those Who Stay Will be Champions!

« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2012, 11:32:24 pm »

You will want to inquire about soda blasting unless there is a lot of rust on the machine.  Blasting with more abrasive media can cause the metal of the cabinet to heat up and warp.  Not sure what would be a good price though!

drinking Tim drinking
msanborn
25 Cent Member

« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2012, 03:28:25 am »

it takes the guy I use approximately 2 hours to blast a 81 style machine.  Thats using soda.  He charges me 200 for the job, but his normal rates are 150 per hour. 

Vendo 81
Vendo 39
Pepsi VMC 81
Ideal Slider
Glasco Slider
SIGNGUY
Soda Jerks

Collector of Ol Smoothie Rootbeer

« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2012, 10:21:21 am »