SMC Discussion Areas
May 12, 2024, 07:10:44 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Pepsi Ideal 70 Slider - Any Advice?  (Read 2651 times)
gct123

« on: August 09, 2011, 06:11:04 pm »

Hi All,
I'm a new member and I just bought my first machine.  Based on info I found on this site, I'm pretty sure is an Ideal 70 slider (has bump-out on left side).  It seems to be missing the side ID tag though.  I paid $150 for it.  It has an embossed Pepsi double-dot logo.  It's missing the coin mech and slider rack and has been painted terribly a couple of times.  I don't know if it runs or cools yet - the cord is frayed where it's been re-attached near the compressor.  I want to fix that before I try it.  I'm new to this so I'd appreciate any advice I can get on restoring it.  Does anyone know exactly what year(s) the 70's were made? 

Thanks,
Greg
« Last Edit: August 10, 2011, 07:35:07 pm by gct123 » Logged
David D
Soda Jerks

« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2011, 08:53:18 pm »

Welcome to the site, not sure about the age, but it looks to be in decent shape. 
Kilroy
Soda Jerks

« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2011, 09:12:37 pm »

The Double dot was used by Pepsi until 1951, sorry i can't be more precise. 

"Restored they go for $6-7,000!!"
Member : Michigan Mafia
gct123

« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2011, 07:45:59 pm »

Thanks David, Kilroy.

Update - I taped up some of the frayed wiring and plugged 'er in.  The compressor and blower motor run, but I'm not sure it cools.  I ran it for about 15-20 minutes and didn't notice a temperature change.  Maybe I didn't run it long enough?  I was afraid to leave it running too long - thought maybe it should have some maintenance first.  Might it just need a freon charge?  Is that a DIY type of thing?  Will take any advice I can get.

Thanks,
Greg
Creighton
Global Moderator
Soda Jerks