SMC Discussion Areas
May 02, 2024, 06:18:08 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: What is this?  (Read 3511 times)
« on: September 07, 2004, 11:04:33 pm »

Ok I'm VERY new to all of this...   I'm JUST starting my little project of restoring this machine and have a few questions...

I'm guessing the top is the refrig... it gets somewhat cold...

But what is the bottom part?  Is that the compressor? It has a R12 stamped on the back...   But I DID notice that the fan behind the fins is not spinning and it's getting REALLY hot...

Since I'm going to restore this machine... what would be the cost of getting it cleaned up and brought up to date with new freon or what ever they used now?

It's a Model VF110B-A from Vendorlator... so I think that's a VF56?

ussexplorer
10 Cent Member

« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2004, 02:07:33 am »

one is the evaporator I think. If I got the name right. Yea i was first puzzled when I saw both items that look almost identical to each other. But one has a fan behind it. Well normally on a order machine. It is used to cool down liquid going to the compressor? I'm not 100%. I myself just looked up the other day how a typical refrigeration unit works on the net. That does bring me to a quesetion I have. How flexible is the metal tubes? Say if I purchase a rebuilt deck I noticed I have to put the deck in bottom of said machine. Then put the cooling part above in the carpartment. are those pretty flexable?

later,

ussexplorer
johnieG
Global Moderator
Soda Jerks

This is fine...everythings going to be OK....

« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2004, 08:14:56 am »

The top portion in the "cold" area is the evaportator, the compressor & condensor coil in on the lower deck below,